Skip to content

More Weddings, Dirk Nowitzki, & Carrie Underwood

April 20, 2010

I am one day late on this one and am deeply sorry for it.  I hate being late to anything, much less my observation’s of the week column.  Needless to say I have a couple of things from the past week I want to discuss.  Have you ever had one of those weekends that you didn’t accomplish one productive thing other than having a major blast for 3 straight days.  I go on vacations and trips all the time where this happens but this was right here in town and I am still laughing about it. 

Starting Thursday night I got the opportunity to go out for my man Cdub, my recently departed roommate, my newly married great friend that I grew up with’s bachelor party.  Now I won’t go into any details but as you can see in the picture below, we celebrated with a cigar (non Cuban) and then continued on in our party bus.  Now I must say that we were on great behavior as always but being around friends from out of town you grew up with presents a very upbeat mode and we took advantage of this 10 fold…….

E.B looks like a Mob boss doesnt he.

You should totally be here.

Friday night was yet another time to remember as we had the traditional rehearsal dinner.  It was after this dinner that more fun started and we all came to realize our soon to be married friend does quite the rendition of the hit song “Humpty Dance” among others, at a local karaoke bar.  We picked up right where we left on Saturday with a beautiful wedding.  Wow, did Ash look stunning or what.  Most people would say that wedding receptions are usually a great time with family and friends and once again, we were not disappointed.  This one in particular lasted 6 hours (hah what) and featured an open mic session with 10 speeches, a wacky picture booth (can’t wait to see these shots), and of course my favorite, yes an hour-long dance circle.  I must say that the wedding party as well as the brides family which is quite large & very much fun, found this circle very intriguing.  We totally went hip hop and all participated in the following hit dances – (No known video available at this point)

  • Jerkin – from the song “you’re a jerk”
  • Stanky leg – from the song “do da the stanky leg”
  • Ricky Bobby stomp – You get the point

If only you would’ve been there, you would understand why I’m still smiling about this.  Do yourself a favor and YouTube these dances.  So once again, thank you to all who took part is this great wedding and weekend, one I will always remember. 

My final observations happened on Sunday during my Dallas MAVS opening playoff win & commercial time out in which I flipped on the Country Music Awards.  You know I have to motivate you or give some sort of advice right?  I mean weddings and parties are fun but I do have  lesson for you as well.  As I was watching the Mavericks playoff game against the rival Spurs I kept noticing that not matter what the Spurs did they could not stop my boy Dirk.  If you don’t know who Dirk Nowitzki is then you should google him. This is a German born NBA player that we drafted some 10 plus years ago that has helped keep our team competitive simply by his talent & winning attitude.  I think sometimes we take him for granted here in Dallas but he just gets better every year and means the world to our team.  Anyway, it would turn out that he finished the game with 36 points and only took 14 shots.  If you don’t know anything about Basketball just know that is stupid good.  If you have a game and only miss 2 shots then your are a Boss!  I want you to strive to be more like Dirk and get better every year at what you do for a living.  Be the Best on your team and you will not regret it. 

Final take away is very short and simple.  Country Music super star Carrie Underwood very well could be an angel in human form.  No really, just check out the picture below and listen to her sing sometime.  She actually thanked this blog in her acceptance speech after winning a couple of awards.  She loves me, I know……

Go out and get after this week, make it count because I know I will. 

Peace,

Terry

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sunni Ellison permalink
    April 22, 2010 8:26 pm

    Subscribed!!

Leave a comment