Skip to content

So Long My Friend!

April 2, 2010

Today is an incredible day in the history of man, Good Friday. Why the heck am I at work today? I think it’s fitting that one of my best friends gets some praise today for many reasons. Who might that be you ask? His name is Chris “Cdub” Williams and I have had the honor of living with him for the past 18 months. It just so happens that today he is moving out as he prepares to get married in a couple of weekends. As much as he wanted to stay living in my condo, we just could not seem to convince the lovely Ashly to join us (maybe bachelor pads scare girls). Anybody that has known Chris is aware of his personality and bad habits growing up and I mean that in a good way. All kids have a learning curve they must go through in order to become a better human being and I have witnessed the growth of him in one short year and a half. I could write out a full article on his background and old ways but that is not what I want to let you know about today.

Now I would have to say that there are many reasons that Chris has become a better man in the time that I have lived with him. It really helps in a major way when you meet a girl that helps you become better in life.  His care for little Ashly is something that brings such happiness to me because he wants nothing more than to be a leader and good partner to her, but not only does he want that, he actually goes out and proves it.  This is one of the ways he has grown right before my eyes and the fact that he works so hard to do the right things is so impressive.  Thank you Ashly for being so amazing and giving Chris a reason to care.

Chris strives to make a difference in this world now and has affected me in such a great way.  He is so good about encouraging others and being someone you can always talk to about life.   We have both grown closer to God as a result of him an that in its own has improved the attitude and life outlook for the both of us.  I cant thank Chris enough for always being there and getting me more involved with faith.  It has drastically shaped me as I mature. 

The last of many great things I want to point out which I have learned from Chris is his ability to step into other peoples shoes as a means to understand how they may feel about certain situations.    This has really helped me with conflicts or arguments.  Always have people help you understand where they are coming from with their point of view and you will avoid many problems.  

I just wanted to pay tribute to a best friend of mine and let everyone know how appreciative of him I am.  It’s very ironic to me that he is moving out on Good Friday, almost as if someone higher up has put us so close together for a reason. Good luck Cdub, I am positive that you will succeed in life no matter what gets in the way.  

Your Friend for Life,

Terry

Pic of the week, my boy The Cdub

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cdub permalink
    April 2, 2010 7:24 pm

    Don’t know how to say thanks for the verbal praise bro! I value my relationship with u as well and stoked about enjoying many more long conversations and many great memories. 🙂 I like this website!!! Keep going Terry, keep going!

  2. Kasey Bell permalink
    April 2, 2010 8:41 pm

    Terr Bear, you are an amazing guy! haha, this blog is sooo you and what you represent:) Anyone/Everyone is blessed to have you as a friend!! LOVE LOVE **Keep it real yo..

  3. Mindy permalink
    April 2, 2010 9:30 pm

    Terry,

    Your words are so kind an inspiring for your roomie and his new life moving forward. He is very fortunate to have such a good friend like you! I too feel blessed to have you in my life as well. Always kind and positive and motivated like no other!!! 🙂

  4. Mrs. CLong permalink
    April 3, 2010 3:57 am

    Terry,
    Serioulsy brought tears to my eyes…..for so many reasons.

    One because I too have witnessed the growth of our dear friend CDub and to say that I am proud is an understatement. Its as if we have seen a 360 growth and all I can say is WOW! Chris its true, the woman in your life shapes you and helps you become a better man everyday….just the same way you will help her become an even more amazing woman….the saying is so true…Two truly become One through Christ!! You and Ashly are about to experience one of the most incredible days in your lives and take your love to an entirely new level that you never knew existed…its truly an unbelievable experience!

    And two because Terry the love, support, and loyalty that you have shown to your friend is admirable! Makes me appreciate the friendships and bond we all have! Love you T-Elly 🙂

    ~Carrie Long

Leave a comment